Log in

DoveR alumnae chapter


delta sigma theta sorority, inc.

Chapter history

About Dover Alumnae Chapter

On April 28, 1955, Regional Director, Jennie D. Taylor and twelve young sorority members chartered Epsilon Kappa Sigma (now Dover Alumnae Chapter) in Dover, Delaware.

The first official chapter meeting was held in May 1955 at the home of Soror Helen Games with Soror Helen Washington presiding in Milford, DE. The first public service activities for the chapter was the development of the Sub-Deb program (now Delta GEMS), awarding scholarships, Jabberwock and contributing to Thicka, a maternity hospital built in Kenya, Africa by the Sorority.

In 1957, the chapter members initiated four new members: Emma G. Woodson, Nora Patrick, Edith Hardcastle, Reba R. Hollingsworth and presented their first Jabberwock, “Gateway to Paradise”.

Epsilon Alpha Chapter was chartered at Delaware State College (now University) in January 1958 under the sponsorship of Dover Alumnae Chapter with Maye Grant as undergraduate advisor.



This website is the sole property and responsibility of the Dover Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.


Dover Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

PO BOX 636

Dover, DE 19903

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software